The University of the Free State Convocation is a statutory body made up of all the UFS’s permanent academic and support services staff members as well as students who have obtained a formal qualification from the university. The Convocation ensures that the voices of alumni are heard by raising matters of concern and advising the UFS Council and management on matters of importance.

Nominations: Representatives of the convocation
on the 
university Council


The composition of the Council of the University of the Free State is stipulated in the UFS Statute, as promulgated in the Government Gazette of 26 January 2018. The terms of office of the President of Convocation, Prof JU (Johan) Grobbelaar, Mr CJ (Christo) Dippenaar, Mr H (Henry) Madlala (Qwaqwa Campus) expire on 31 October 2018. Convocation has to appoint three representatives in their place, one of which has to be the President of Convocation and another should be from the Qwaqwa Campus. In terms of the Statute, both Mr Dippenaar and Mr Madlala are eligible for re-election.

Written nominations for the election of THREE (s) representatives of the Convocation for a period of FOUR (4) years, are hereby requested.

The Convocation comprises of all permanent academic staff from lecturer to professor, all permanent staff other than academic staff from Deputy Director to Rector and Vice-Chancellor by virtue of their respective offices and all students (current and former) who obtained a qualification at the University.

Each nomination shall be signed by 5 (five) members of Convocation and shall contain the written acceptance of the nomination by the nominee under his or her signature, as well as an abridged CV (±2pages). These must reach Dawid Kriel by 12:00 on Monday 12 November 2018. If more than one person per each of the three categories is nominated, elections will be held on or before Friday, 16 November 2018. You will be notified of the final date for elections in due course. Please submit your nomination via email: or fax:  +27 86 643 1665,  or by post:                   

Dawid Kriel
University of the Free State: Institutional Advancement
PO Box 339
Bloemfontein 9300

Or hand delivered at:

Dawid Kriel
Room 26, 1st Floor
Wekkie Saayman Building
Bloemfontein Campus

For enquiries, please contact Claudine Taylor at or +27 51 401 2097. 

Download the nomination form.