Brandenburg String Trio

Description: Brandenburg String Trio Tags: Brandenburg String Triowith Avigail Bushakevitz (violin), Ernst-Martin Schmidt (viola) & Andrea Casarrubios (cello)
18 May 2017


The Brandenburg String Trio comprises SA violinist Avigail Bushakevitz, German violist Ernst-Martin Schmidt and Spanish cellist Andrea Casarrubios.  The trio members have performed in the world's greatest halls, such as Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), the Royal Albert Hall (London) at the BBC Proms, Carnegie Hall (New York) and the Philharmonie (Berlin).


No stranger to South African audiences, violinist Avigail Bushakevitz has performed as soloist with all the major orchestras in the country and has won multiple national and international competitions including first prizes at the UNISA National Strings Competition and the UNO Competition (Jerusalem). In 2016 Avigail was named South African Standard Bank Young Artist of the Year. Together with her brother, Ammiel, she has toured South Africa, and performed in New York and various European countries. In 2014 the duo was awarded first prize in the international Spanish competition Paper de Musica de Capellades. After completing her master’s degree at the Juilliard School (New York), Avigail continued her studies in Tel Aviv. In 2013 Avigail moved to Berlin taking up her current position as a first violinist in the Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin


Violist Ernst-Martin Schmidt was born in East Berlin where he first studied violin at the CPE Bach specialist music school. He completed his bachelors and master’s degrees at the Musik Hochschule Hanns Eisler (Berlin). During the final two years of studies he commenced two years' playing in the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2005 he joined the viola section of the Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin.


Cellist Andrea Casarrubios studied at the Peabody Institute (Baltimore) and at the University of Southern California. After completing her master’s, she went on to work with Ensemble ACJW at Carnegie Hall (New York). She is also a composer with compositions premiered at illustrious venues such as Carnegie Hall. The New York Times praised her cello playing as having “traversed the palette of emotions” with “gorgeous tone and an edge-of-seat intensity”. She has won many awards and is a first prize winner of the American Fine Arts Festival International Concerto Competition 2012 and the SOR Solo String Concerto Competition 2009.



Henry Purcell - Fantasia in D minor, Z. 743 (version for string trio)

Franz Schubert - String Trio in B flat major, D. 471 (unfinished)

Jean Françaix - String Trio (1933)

Gideon Klein - String Trio (1944)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  - String Trio (Divertimento) in E flat major, K.563



R130 (adults)

*R90 (pensioners)

*R70 (UFS staff)

*R50 (students, learners and block bookings of 10+)

Tickets available at Computicket or online at

*Please note that tickets for pensioners, students, learners and UFS staff can only be purchased at a Computicket outlet (Shoprite Checkers) or at the doors since a valid card or ID has to be presented to qualify for the above mentioned discount.



Ninette Pretorius (tel. 051 401 2504)

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.