Viva Vivaldi

presented by the


28 November 2019



The final concert by the Odeion Baroque Ensemble is titled Viva Vivaldi. As the name indicates, the concert will celebrate some of Vivaldi’s greatest works for solo instruments, choir and orchestra (conducted by Lance Phillip). The programme contains solo concertos, concertos for more than one instrument and works for choir and chamber orchestra. The solo concertos for violin (Francois Henkins), recorder (Petrus Krige) and oboe (Johan Ferreira) reflect the typical beauty of Vivaldi’s music. The double concerto in G minor for violoncello and bassoon will be performed by Tilla Henkins and Brahm Henkins. An exquisite work on the programme is the sparkling concerto in D major for four solo instruments: violin, recorder, oboe and bassoon. The Four Seasons (Le Quattro Stagioni) has been arranged by Petrus Krige in a very attractive way. The programme will conclude with four works for choir and chamber orchestra. The Cathedral Singers, lead by Lance Phillip, will then join the chamber orchestra with the work Domine - a set for double choir and double orchestra, and the evergreen Gloria will conclude the programme. This concert is dedicated to Kobus Malan who for decades, played a prominent role in Bloemfontein performing Baroque music, not as oboist only, but as recorder player as well.

The Odeion Baroque Ensemble consists of strings, recorders and double reeds, accompanied by harpsichord and organ. According to Baroque practice, the players are seated in a circle around the harpsichord. All of the works on the programme has been arranged by Petrus Krige in such a way that all ensemble members participate in all of the items. This correlates with customs during the Baroque era, when works were performed on the instruments that were available. The part that was scored for Kobus Malan will be substituted by the oboist Johan Ferreira and recorder player Renée Ferreira. It is also the last performance of Petrus Krige in Bloemfontein.

This Vivaldi programme is the fourth concert in which the Odeion Baroque Ensemble features a specific composer. In 2016 Bach featured, followed by Telemann and Handel.


  • R130 (adults)
  • *R70 (pensioners)
  • *R70 (UFS staff)
  • *R50 (students, learners and block bookings of 10+)

Tickets available at Computicket or online at

*Please note that tickets for pensioners, students, learners and UFS staff can only be purchased at a Computicket outlet (Shoprite Checkers) or at the doors since a valid card or ID has to be presented to qualify for the above mentioned discount.

Ninette Pretorius (tel +27 51 401 2504)

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.