

UFS Support staff Awards

Most Valued Professional in Learning and Teaching Winner: Keitumetse Poen (CTL) Runner-up: Adv Shirly Hyland (Kovsie Phahamisa Academy) Exceptional Research Support Winner: Johan Botes (Faculty of Health Sciences) Learning and Teaching Awards: Vice-Chancellor's Award: Learning and Teaching Winner: Jana Lamprecht (School of Accountancy) Runner-Up: Dr Anchen Froneman (Odeion School of Music) Innovation in Learning and Teaching: Student Engagement and/or Motivation Winner: Ané Church (School of Accountancy) Runner-Up: Dr Grey Stopforth (Mercantile Law) Innovation in Learning and Teaching: Redesign or Renewal of My Module Winners: Dr Anke van der Merwe / Prof Lizemari Hugo-van Dyk / Prof Corlia Janse van Vuuren Runners-up: Prof Lynette van der Merwe / Dr Elzana Kempen / Christolene Saaiman (Faculty of Health Sciences) Innovation in Learning and Teaching: Assessment Winners: Annalene Nell / Lindi Heyns (CTL) Runner-Up: Anneen Church (CTL) Innovation in Learning and Teaching : Technology and/or Online Tools Winners: Zaynab Mobara Links / Prof Thuthukile Jita (Faculty of Education) Runner-Up: Johan Coetzee (Faculty of Education) Research in Learning and Teaching: Emerging scholars Winner: Dr Frelét de Villiers (Odeion School of Music)

Runner-Up: Anneen Church (CTL)



Research in Learning and Teaching: Advanced scholars

Winner: Dr Angela Stott (Faculty of Education)

Runner-Up: Prof Liezel Massyn (UFS Business School)

Kovsie Phahamisa Short Learning Programme Award

Winner: The Academic Advising Professional Development Programme (AAPD, CTL)

Runner-Up: Simulation for Health Professions Educators (SHPE, Faculty of Health Sciences)

Best Conference Paper: Bloemfontein

Winner: Ané Church (School of Accounting)

Best Conference Paper: Qwaqwa

Winner: Wonder Tekula (CTL)

Departmental Award in Learning and Teaching: Qwaqwa

Education Management, Policy and Comparative Education (Faculty of Education)

Research

Exceptional Established Researcher Achievers' Award

Winner: Prof Hendrik Swart (Department of Physics)

Runner-Up: Prof Lochner Marais (Centre for Development Support)

Exceptional Young Achievers' Award

Winner: Prof Danre Strydom (Odeion School of Music)

Runner-Up: Prof Martin Rossouw (Martin Rossouw) and Dr Gerard Kamga (Free State Centre for Human Rights)

Exceptional Academic Achievement for Team Research

Winner: Prof Melanie Walker (Centre for Development Support)

Exceptional Supervisors' Awards

Winner: Prof Danie Brand (Free State Centre for Human Rights)

Runner-Up: Prof Maryke Labuschagne (Plant Sciences)

UFS 2023 Book Prize

Winner: Dr Arno van Niekerk

Runner-Up: Dr Jared McDonald for his book *Khoesan and Imperial Citizenship in Nineteenth Century South Africa*



Khothatsa Awards

Brent Damian Jammer (Department of Agricultural Economics) Dr Mabohlokoa Khanyetsi (Department of African Languages) Ntombizodumo Shezi Radebe (Department of Geography) Dr Maleho Letloenyane (Department of Curriculum Studies and Higher Education) Dr Glen Legodu (Department of Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Technology Education) Dr Hanli Joubert (School of Accountancy) Dr Sammy Mokoena (Department of Community Health) Sebabatso Tsaoane (School of Nursing) Anathi Nyadu (Department of Communication Science) Lyle Markham (Department of Industrial Psychology) Prof Theo Neethling (Department of Political Studies and Governance) Adv Inez Bezuidenhout (Department of Public Law) Khanya Motshabi (Department of Public Law) Petro Swart (Sustainable Food Systems and Development) Dr Anathi Makamane (Sustainable Food Systems and Development) Dr Eugene Fortein (Department: Historical and Constructive Theology) Dr Daniël Andrew (Department: Practical and Missional Theology) **Special Recognition:** Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow Prof Corlia Janse van Vuuren (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (SHRS) and Vice-Dean: Teaching and Learning within the Faculty of Health Sciences) Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow Prof Thuthukile Jita (Department of Curriculum Studies and Higher Education) Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow Dr Mabohlokoa Khanyetsi (Department of African Languages) Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow



Dr Frelét de Villiers (Odeion School of Music) Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow Rentia du Plessis (Department of Communication Science) Special Recognition: Teaching Advancements at Universities (TAU) Fellow Motsaathebe Serekoane (Department of Anthropology) Special Recognition: HERS-SA Higher Education Women Leaders (HEWL) Awards Nominee Dr Rosaline Sebolao (The Humanities) Special Recognition: HERS-SA Higher Education Women Leaders (HEWL) Awards Nominee Dr Henriëtte van den Berg (The Transformation of the Professoriate Mentoring Programme) Special Recognition: National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards Nominee Prof Peter Taylor (Zoology and Entomology) Special Recognition: National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards Nominee Prof Sandy-Lynn Steenhuisen (Department of Plant Sciences) Special Recognition: National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards Nominee Dr Bimo Nkhata (Centre for Environmental Management) Special Recognition: National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) Awards Nominee Prof Anthony Turton (Centre for Environmental Management) Special Recognition: National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) Nominee Jana Lamprecht (School of Accountancy) Special Recognition: National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) Nominee Postgraduate Chartered Accountancy Team Special Recognition: National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) Nominee Dr Grey Stopforth (Department of Mercantile Law) Special Recognition: National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) Nominee Prof Gerhard Bosman (Department of Architecture) Special Recognition: Library and Information Association of South Africa (LIASA) Awards Winner Hesma van Tonder (Library and Information Services)



Special Recognition: Library and Information Association of South Africa (LIASA) Awards Winner

Xolelwa Xorile (Library and Information Services)

Special Recognition: Library and Information Association of South Africa (LIASA) Awards Winner

Nambitha Manqola (Library and Information Services)

Special Recognition: Library and Information Association of South Africa (LIASA) Awards Winner

Tebogo Makhurupetsi (Library and Information Services)