

LETTER OF NOTICE 01 OF 2019

(FOR UNIVERSITIES ONLY)

TO: UNIVERISTY VICE-CHANCELLORS AND PRINCIPALS

CC: CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERS AND FINANCIAL AID OFFICE HEADS

FROM: DR RANDALL CAROLISSEN EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATOR

DATE: AUGUST 26, 2019

SUBJECT: OPENING OF 2020 APPLICATIONS

Dear Vice-Chancellor

RE: OPENING OF 2020 NSFAS APPLICATIONS

I wish to inform you that the Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Dr Blade Nzimande, MP, has authorised NSFAS to open the 2020 application season for student funding from September 01, to November 30, 2019.

NSFAS herewith requests your institution to provide access to your stakeholders in order extend our coverage of our target market.

To qualify for government funding for university and TVET college studies, the applicant should have the following:

- 1. Be a South African citizen
- 2. Register at any of the 26 public universities; and 50 TVET colleges
- 3. Come from a family with an income of below R350 000 per annum (combined)

Students with disabilities and students who are beneficiaries of social grants automatically qualifies for NSFAS. Students who wish to study for post-graduate studies do not qualify for NSFAS. However, we encourage them to seek funding from the National Skill Fund and the National Research Foundation.

In order to engage learners at high school, NSFAS will be employing 200 NSFAS unemployed graduate from covering the country to support the application process. These graduates will visit the high schools, and rural communities where there are no computers and internet connectivity to assist students.

Below is a list of available teacher centres facilities to be used for applications per province:

	Vodacom Teacher Centres
Western Cape	Metro: Vodacom Centre Metro East Winelands: Vodacom Centre Winelands
Eastern Cape	Port Elizabeth: Algoa Bay Teacher Centre (New Brighton), Uitenhage Teacher Centre, PE District Office Grahamstown: Makanda District Office East London: Rubusana Teacher Centre King Williams Town: Eastern Cape Department of Education Umtata: OR Tambo District office, Umthatha Education Leadership Institute Lusikisiki
Northern Cape	Kimberley: Kimberley DBE Provincial Office Upington: Vodacom teacher training centre- Upington

North West Vryburg: Pule Leeuw EDSC Centre Ganyesa: Ganyesa EDSC Rustermburg: Thabane Teacher Training Centre, Tihabane EDSC District Cent Tweelagste: Batthalerwa EDSC Mogwase: Mogwase District Teacher Development Centre Gauteng Temba, District Office: Temba Community Library Ekhuruleni: Ekurhuleni North Teacher Development Centre Benoni: Mathew Goniwe, Unisa ICT Centre Gauteng East: DarlPark Ekhuruleni South: Alberton Teacher Development Centre Sedibeng West: Sebokeng, Sedibeng District Office Sedibeng East: Sharpville Soweto: Johannesburg Central, Ndondo. Boipelo: Boipelo Teachers Centre Johannesburg: Soweto Limpopo Seshego: Mastec Institute Makhado: Makhado ICT Resource Centre Thohoyandou: Shingwedzi Education Centre Phokoane ICT Centre: Phokoane ICT Centre Mpumalanga Kanyamazane: Ehlanzeni District Office Hazyview: Masoyi, Hazyview EDC Graskop: Glory Hill EDC Free State Bethlehem: Thabo Mofutsanyana District Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC Turmahole Career Centre		
Ekhuruleni: Ekurhuleni North Teacher Development Centre Benoni: Mathew Goniwe, Unisa ICT Centre Gauteng East: DarlPark Ekhuruleni South: Alberton Teacher Development Centre Sedibeng West: Sebokeng, Sedibeng District Office Sedibeng East: Sharpville Soweto: Johannesburg Central, Ndondo. Boipelo: Boipelo Teachers Centre Johannesburg: Soweto Limpopo Seshego: Mastec Institute Makhado: Makhado ICT Resource Centre Thohoyandou: Shingwedzi Education Centre Phokoane ICT Centre: Phokoane ICT Centre Mpumalanga Kanyamazane: Ehlanzeni District Office Hazyview: Masoyi, Hazyview EDC Graskop: Glory Hill EDC Free State Bethlehem: Thabo Mofutsanyana District Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC	North West	Ganyesa: Ganyesa EDSC Rusternburg: Tihabane Teacher Training Centre, Tihabane EDSC District Centre Tweelagste: Batlhalerwa EDSC
Makhado: Makhado ICT Resource Centre Thohoyandou: Shingwedzi Education Centre Phokoane ICT Centre: Phokoane ICT Centre Mpumalanga Kanyamazane: Ehlanzeni District Office Hazyview: Masoyi, Hazyview EDC Graskop: Glory Hill EDC Free State Bethlehem: Thabo Mofutsanyana District Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC	Gauteng	Ekhuruleni: Ekurhuleni North Teacher Development Centre Benoni: Mathew Goniwe, Unisa ICT Centre Gauteng East: DarlPark Ekhuruleni South: Alberton Teacher Development Centre Sedibeng West: Sebokeng, Sedibeng District Office Sedibeng East: Sharpville Soweto: Johannesburg Central, Ndondo. Boipelo: Boipelo Teachers Centre
Hazyview: Masoyi, Hazyview EDC Graskop: Glory Hill EDC Free State Bethlehem: Thabo Mofutsanyana District Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC	Limpopo	Makhado: Makhado ICT Resource Centre Thohoyandou: Shingwedzi Education Centre
Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC	Mpumalanga	Hazyview: Masoyi, Hazyview EDC
	Free State	Tshiya Resource Centre: Phutaditjaba, College of Education Welkom: Lejweleputswa Thaba-Nchu: Motheo Kroonstad: Fezile Dabi ERC
KwaZulu-Natal Pietermaritzburg: Provincial District Office Durban: Ithala teacher centre	KwaZulu-Natal	

Also attached, is a list of Thusong Centres and a link with for all libraries across the country: <u>http://www.nlsa.ac.za/condgrant/</u>.

I look forward to working with you to bring change to your communities.

Yours Sincerely,

h

Dr Randall Carolissen Executive Administrator

10 Brodie Road, House Vincent 2nd Floor, Wynberg, Cape Town, 7800 Private Bag X1, Plumstead, Cape Town, 7801 T: 0800 067 327 | 021 763 3200 W: www.nsfas.org.za

OFFICE OF THE ADMINISTRATOR

The appointment of Dr Randall Carolissen as the Administrator to the National Student Financial Aid Scheme is in terms of Section 17A to 17D of the NSFAS Act (Act 56 of 1999 as amended), effective from August 21, 2019 as published in the Government Gazette by the Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Dr Bonginkosi Emmanuel Nzimande, MP.