

8th annual quantity surveying conference

Theme: CEMENTING THE FUTURE

15th – 16th October 2015 · Bloemfontein · South Africa



THE SOUTH AFRICAN COUNCIL

OUANTITY SURVEYING PROFESSION

Established in terms of the Quantity Surveying Profession Act 2000 (Act No 49 of 2000)





Main topics

- Transformation
- Capacity building
- Statutory influence
- Infrastructure deterioration
- Infrastructure development
- **Ethics**
- Technology
- Client expectations Education and
- training Skills development
- Sustainability Supply Chain Management
- **Procurement**

Key dates 2015

- 30 April Abstracts (200 words max)
- 15 May Notification of acceptance
- 17 July Submission of draft paper
- 21 August Notification of acceptance
- 18 September Submission of final paper
- 10 October Distribution of final paper

Programme

STOND FLOOR

OVERHANG

15th October 2015 (07:00 - 10:00)

Registration and welcome

15th October 2015 (10:00)

Keynote speakers • Parallel paper presentations Conference dinner

16th October 2015 (08:00 - 17:00)

Keynote speakers - Parallel paper presentations - Awards and closure

Fees

Prizes

Delegate R3 500 + VAT **Best Paper** R10 000.00

Student Delegate R1 000 + VAT

Accompanying Person

Conference outcomes

The theme of the conference – Cementing the Future - addresses how the built environment has progressed since the advent of democracy. Within the topics listed, responses are sought to the following critical questions:

- How can the industry address transformation in a meaningful way?
- How can the statutory environment be addressed to improve collaboration within the industry?
- How rapidly increasing technology change is addressed by the industry?

Abstracts and papers

Authors are invited to submit abstracts in English of not more than 200 words for peer review by the scientific and technical committee by not later than 30 April 2015. Abstracts will be reviewed according to the relevance to the topics and objectives of the conference; originality of subject matter; likely academic rigour of the proposed paper; and likely contribution to knowledge, or practical relevance of the proposed paper.

Suhmissions

Submit abstracts and papers as Word documents by email: sacqsp2015@ufs.ac.za

Organising committee

Mr Steve Lyons - Registrar of SACQSP Mr Manuel de Bruin – ESR Manager of SACQSP Mr Ian Moss – LOC member of SACQSP Mr Larry Feinberg - Director of ASAQS Prof Kahilu Kajimo Shakantu - HOD - UFS Dr Stephan Ramabodu - Snr Lecturer - UFS Mr Pierre Oosthuizen - Lecturer - UFS Mrs Jill Kruger - Conference Secretariat - UFS Mr Karl Trusler - Edutech Manager of ASAQS

Keynote Speakers (T.B.A)

Conference Host & Secretariat

Prof Kahilu Kajimo Shakantu (Academic Chair) +27 (0) 51 401 2248

Dr Stephan Ramabodu (Academic Co-chair) ramabodums@ufs.ac.za

Mrs Jill Kruger (Conference Secretary) +27 (0) 51 401 2236

