

## Historical time line of the Department of Economics and Finance

1910 - 1916 Economics or "Staathuishoudkunde" was introduced as an elective for the second year BA degree.

## ECONOMICS.

Lecturer : (Appointment Pending).

## B.A. PASS.

The syllabus in this subject comprises : -

- (1) Elementary Economic Theory.
  - The general scope of economic science, and analysis of fundamental notions; the production, distribution, and consumption of wealth; the economic functions of government.
- (2) Outlines of Economic History.
  - Stages in economic evolution; outlines of economic history in the middle ages; the growth of nationality; the expansion of Western economic methods.

## HONOURS.

The syllabus for 1017 is as follows :-

- (1) Advanced paper on pure theory of economics.
- (2) (Special subject) Monetary Theory: —Index numbers, causes and effects of changes in the value of money, systems of currency, history and theory of banking.
- (3) Public Finance and the Economic Functions of Government.
- (4) (Special period of economic history: The Middle Ages to the end of the Fifteenth Century.
- (5) Economic History of South Africa.
- (6) An Essay on the work of the syllabus.





- 1917 1919 Dr. J.E. Holloway, who just obtained his DSc in Economics from the London School of Economics, was appointed as the first full-time lecturer in Economics and Economic History.
- 1919 1926 Dr. S.P Barnard succeeded Dr. Holloway. He lectured History, Economics and Economic History.
- 1927 1940 Prof. I.S. Fourie was appointed as lecturer, and served as a lecturer in the Department for 13 years. In 1937 "Staathuishoudkunde" was changed to Economics. From 1938 Mr. F.C. van N Fourie was appointed to lecture Economic History. He later became professor in Business Economics and Dean of the Faculty.
- Prof. C van H du Plessis succeeded Prof. I.S. Fourie who lectured Economics for 27 years. Dr. S.J. (Sample) Terblanche was also appointed as lecturer due to the increase in student numbers. In 1968 prof. Du Plessis was appointed Dean of the Faculty.
- The lecturing staff consisted of the following members: Prof. Du Plessis and Dr. S.J Terblanche.
- The lecturing staff consisted of the following members: Dr. C van H du Plessis (HoD); Dr. S.J. Terblanche; and Mr. J.J. Lourens.
- 1969 1972 Prof. R. J. (Rias) van Wyk was appointed as Head of the Department.
- 1973 1974 Prof. J.H. (Jan) Lange was appointed as Head of the Department.
- Prof. J.J. Lourens was appointed as Head of the Department. Prof. Lourens established the Department of Money and Banking, with Prof. G.M. Wessels as Head of Department.
- The staff consisted of the following members: Prof. J.J. (Johan)
  Lourens (HoD); Prof. F. C van N (Frederick) Fourie; Prof. E.P (Elwil)
  Beukes; Mr. J.S. (Jannie) van Zyl; Dr. L.J. (Louis) Bothma; Mrs. M.R.
  (Minette) Smit; Miss. A.M. (Anmar) Pretorius; Mrs. K (Katienka)
  Steyn (secretary); Mrs. P.L. (Louise) Booysen (administrative official).





2019

1994	Prof. F.C van N Fourie was appointed as Head of the department
	1994-1996. He was appointed Dean of the Faculty in 1997-1999,
	became Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-Rector: Academic, UFS
	1999-2002; Acting Rector and Vice-Chancellor, UFS 2000-2002;
	and Rector and Vice-Chancellor, UFS 2003 - 2008.

1999 The Department of Money and Banking merged with the Department of Economics.

The staff consisted of the following members: Prof G.M Wessels (HoD); Dr. H van Zyl; Dr. L Bothma; Mr. J van Zyl; Ms. A.M Pretorius; Mrs. K Thomas; Mr. J Moses; Mr. F Booysen; Mr. I van der Merwe; Mr. P Burger, Ms. K Kitching; Mrs. C Campher; Mrs. P.L Booysen (administrative). Mrs H van Tonder (administrative); Mrs. A Myburgh (administrative).

2002 Prof. P. (Philippe) Burger is appointed Head of the Department. He served in this position until 2019. In 2019 he was appointed as Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences.

Vista University and the University of Qwa Qwa were incorporated into the University of the Free State.

The Department of Economics changed its name to the Department of Economics and Finance.

The staff of the department consists of the following members: Prof. Philippe Burger (HoD until July 2019); Dr. Nico Keyser (HOD as from October 2019); Dr. Johan Coetzee; Dr. Sevias Guvuriro; Dr. Arno van Niekerk; Dr. Antonie Pool; Dr. Calvin Mudzingiri (Qwa Qwa); Dr. Ivan van der Merwe; Dr. Cecile Duvenhage; Mrs. Karlien Stemmet; Mr. JP Geldenhuys; Mrs. Lizelle Janse van Rensburg; Mrs. Celeste Campher Mr. Amon Magwiro (Qwa Qwa); Dr. Charity Gomo (Qwa Qwa); Mr. Kagiso Molefe; Mrs. Hettie van Tonder (Marks Coordinator); Ms. Charelise van Staden (Senior Assistant Officer).

