

Prof Andreas Roodt

Prof Andreas Roodt is distinguished professor in Chemistry and Chairperson of the Chemistry Department at the University of the Free State (UFS). He leads the Inorganic Chemistry research group consisting of four senior colleagues, four post-doctoral fellows, eight PhD and ten MSc students. His prime research focus is on reaction mechanisms in Coordination Chemistry and chemical processes with application in homogeneous catalysis, radiopharmaceuticals and separation technology utilising X-ray crystallography, reaction kinetics, equilibrium and time resolved NMR, IR and UV/vis spectroscopy at ambient, low and high temp and pressure, and Computational Chemistry. He actively collaborates with South African industries such as SASOL Technology, the Nuclear Energy Corporation of South Africa and Pet Labs Pharmaceuticals, and international research groups in Switzerland, Sweden, Germany, Russia and the USA. He made more than 25 international research visits as visiting professor to universities in Switzerland and Sweden and is a member of the Academy of Sciences of South Africa. He currently serves as president of the European Crystallographic Association (40 member countries across Europe, the Middle East and Africa), is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, an international elected member of the Swedish Physiographic Society and different other international societies. He was the winner of RSA Department of Trade & Industry Award for the best THRIP research programme focusing on Small and Medium Enterprise Development in 2010, served as chairperson of the Organising Committees of more than fifteen international conferences in South Africa and abroad, and presented more than 60 lectures at international venues. He regularly reviews papers for more than ten international chemistry journals, served on the editorial boards of three international scientific journals and has published more than 250 scientific papers and chapters in books (ISI Web of Knowledge H-index of 29).



Prof. O.M. (Martin) Ntwaeaborwa

Odireleng Martin Ntwaeaborwa is a Professor of Physics at the University of the Free State, where he has been employed since 2002. He received his bachelor's, honours and Masters degrees of Physics from Mafikeng Campus of the North West University in 1997, 1998 and 2000 respectively; and he received his doctoral (PhD) degree of Physics from the University of the Free State in 2006. Professor Ntwaeaborwa is the president of the South African Nanotechnology Initiative (SANi). He is the director of the centre of excellence of UNESCO-TWAS (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization - The World Academy of Science) for the advancement of science in developing countries. Professor Ntwaeaborwa is serving in adjudication panel of the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) representing the national education sector. He has (co-)authored more than 130 peer-reviewed articles, 3 book chapters, and more than 50 conference proceedings. His work has been cited more than 400 times in the web of science with an H-index of 12. He is an editor of the Journal of Power Technology. He has (co-) presented more than 200 research papers at international and local conferences. Prof. Ntwaeaborwa has given numerous invited talks at international science conferences including American Vacuum Society Symposia, International Conference in Nanomaterials, and International conference on persistent phosphors. Prof Ntwaeaborwa has received numerous awards including Research Excellence Award from the University of the Free State in 2004 and 2010, Young Black Research Award from the National Science and Technology Forum in 2009, and Young Investigator award from the Thin Film Division of the American Vacuum Society in 2010.



## Dr Priscilla Mensah, Deputy-Director: Postgraduate School

Priscilla Mensah holds MSc and PhD degrees in Chemistry from the University of Cape Town, South Africa. After obtaining her doctorate, she joined the Unit for Drug Research and Development at the North West University, South Africa, as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow, where her research focused on the drug delivery properties of Pheroid<sup>™</sup>, a fatty acid-based micro-emulsion. Priscilla joined the Postgraduate School at the University of the Free State in October 2013, as Deputy-Director, to drive internationalization of the School and head its research capacity development and funding programs. She welcomes the opportunity this position provides to advance graduate education, training and scholarship at the University. Prior to this she served as Deputy-Director: International Academic Programmes, Office of the Vice-Chancellor and Rector, University of the Free State. She is a recipient of the 2013 HELM (Higher Education Leadership and Management) LEAD Fellowship. She is also Director of the Southern African Young Scientists Summer Program (SA-YSSP) which the UFS will be hosting again during the period 1 November 2014 to 31 January 2015.