Origins of Universities in South Africa

Segregation Apartheid Post-1994

Have to sort out the column '		'begins'	– by legal creation or actual operation?
Name	Origin	Begins	Notes
University of Cape Town	1829	1918	Origins in the South African College, which prepared students for exams of the University of London. Created by Act 14 of 1916. Begins operations in 1918.
Rhodes University	1855	1951	Origins in St Andrews College in Grahamstown. University level courses begin in 1878. Out of this emerges Rhodes University College in 1904. Created through Act 15 of 1949.
University of the Free State	1873	1950	Origins in Grey College in Bloemfontein. This became Grey University College in 1910 through Act 5. Created through Act 21 of 1949. Incorporated campuses of
University of South Africa	1873	1873, 1916, 1951	Has its origins in the University of the Cape of Good Hope, established in 1873 in Cape Town as an examining rather than teaching institution. Becomes University of South Africa in 1916, based in Pretoria and remaining an examining institution (Act 12 of 1916). In 1951 it becomes a distance correspondence university.
Stellenbosch University	1866	1918	Undenominational Public School begins in Stellenbosch in 1866. In 1881 it becomes Stellenbosch College and in 1887 becomes Victoria College. Created by Act 13 of 1916. Begins operations in 1918.
University of the Witwatersrand	1896	1922	Origins in the South African Schools of Mines established in Kimberley. In 1903 this becomes the Transvaal Technical Institute in Johannesburg and then the Transvaal University College in 1906. The College becomes the South African Schools of Mines & Technology in 1910, and University College Johannesburg in 1920. Created by Act 15 of 1921.
University of Pretoria	1908	1930	Origins in the Transvaal University College, with the splitting of the original one in Johannesburg and creation of a site in Pretoria in 1908. Became a university in 1930
University of Natal	1909	1949	Act 18 of 1909 establishes Natal University College in Pietermaritzburg. A branch was created in Durban in 1931. Created through Act 4 of 1948.
University of Fort Hare	1916	1916 1959 1969	Established as South African Native College in 1916. In 1951 it became the University College of Fort Hare affiliated to Rhodes. In 1959 it came under state control and became one of five ethnic universities created by the Extension of Universities Education Act.
Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education	1919	1951	Established in 1919, with roots in the 1869 Theological School of the Reformed Churches in South Africa in Burgersdorp. In 1933 becomes Potchefstroom University College for Christian Higher Education. Created by Act 19 of 1950.

			1=
University of the North	1959	1969	Establishment of the University of the North in Turfloop,
(post-1994, Limpopo)			Northern Transvaal, as a constituent college affiliated
			to the University of South Africa.
University of Zululand	1959	1969	Establishment of the University of Zululand in Ngoye,
			Natal as a constituent college affiliated to
			the University of South Africa
University of the	1959	1969	Establishment of the University College of the Western
Western Cape			Cape in Bellville as a constituent college affiliated to
			the University of South Africa
University of Durban	1959	1969	Establishment of the University College for Indians in
Westville			Durban, as a constituent college affiliated to
			the University of South Africa
University of Port	1964	1965	Created by University of Port Elizabeth Act 1 of 1964.
Elizabeth			
Rand Afrikaans	1966	1967	Created by Rand Afrikaans University Act 5 1of 1966
University			
Medical University of	1976	1976	Created in 1976 and began in 1978. Veterinary science
Southern Africa			and dentistry from 1982
University of Transkei	1976	1976	Initially a branch of the University of Fort Hare.
University of	1978	1982	Created in 1978, enrolments from 1980
Bophuthatswana			
University of Qwaqwa	1982	1982	Branch of the University of the North?
Viata University	1983	1982	
Technikon	1903	1979	Establishment of Technikon Witwatersrand in
Witwatersrand			Johannesburg Had its origins in the Transvaal
			Technical Institute established in 1903. In 1925, the
			Witwatersrand Technical Institute was instituted, and
			became the Witwatersrand Technical College in 1930.
			In 1968 it became the Witwatersrand College for
			Advanced Technical Education.
Mangosuthu Technikon	1979	1979	Establishment of Mangosuthu Technikon in Umlazi,
			Natal.
ML Sultan Technikon	1930	1979	Its roots lay in the Indian Technical Education
			Committee of 1930 and the provision of technical
			education in the early 1930s. In 1946 the Minster
			declared the ML Sultan Technical College an approved
			institution for Higher Education, in terms of the Higher
			Education Act of 1923. The ML Sultan Technical
			College opened in 1956. It became a College of
			Advanced Technical Education in 1969.
Natal Technikon	1907	1979	It began as the Durban Technical Institute in 1907,
			later became the Natal Technical College, and in 1969
			a College of Advanced Technical Education.
Port Elizabeth	1882	1979	Its roots were in the Port Elizabeth Arts School,
Technikon			founded in 1882. In 1969 it became a College for
			Advanced Technical Education. In 1985, it incorporated
			the Saasveld Forestry College which had been Tokai
			School for Forest Apprentices founded in Cape Town
			in 1912.
Vaal Technikon	1966	1979	Originally a College for Advanced Technical Education
			created in 1966.
		1979	Establishment of Technikon Northern Transvaal
		1979	
		1979	Establishment of Technikon South Africa in
			Establishment of Pretoria Technikon in Pretoria

Cape Technikon 1920 1979 Had its roots in t	
·	the Cape Technical College, which
	in Cape Town in 1920. In 1969 it
	pe College for Advanced Technical
Education.	T '. 1000 II D ' I.
	pe Town in 1962 as the Peninsula
	ge. In 1967 it moved to Bellville, and in
	e Peninsula Colleges for Advanced
Technical Educa	
	f Free State Technikon in
Bloemfontein. Be	
	campuses in Bloemfontein, Daveyton,
Mamelodi, Port	
	keng, Soweto, and Welkom, and a
	on campus in Pretoria.
Border Technikon In East London	
	ally as a campus of the University of
Technikon Transkei in Butte	
	da Bantustan government in
Thohoyandou	
Durban University of 2002 Created from me	erger of Natal Technikon and ML
Technology Sultan Techniko	n with campuses in Durban and
Pietermaritzburg	j.
Vaal University of 2004 Campuses in Se	ecunda, Kempton
	o, Upington and Vanderbijlpark
	pemfontein and Welkom
Technology	
	erger of the Technikon Northern
	ikon North-West and Technikon
Pretoria, with ca	
	pela, Polokwane, Ga-
	anguve, and Witbank
	merger of the universities of Natal and
	e, with campuses in
	aritzburg, Pinetown, and Westville
	merger of University of
	a in Mafikeng and Potchefstroom
	nristian Higher Education
	ging the University of Transkei in
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	Technikon in East London and Eastern
???? Cape Technikon	
	nerger of the Rand Afrikaans
	nikon Witwatersrand, and the Soweto
	campuses of Vista University
	en the University of Port Elizabeth and
	echnikon, with the Port Elizabeth
	University being incorporated into
I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I	orniversity being incorporated into
UPE in 2004.	organ of Cana Taghnikan and
	erger of Cape Technikon and
	nikon with campuses in Cape Town,
	ay, and Wellington.
	post-1994 institutions. Established in
Mpumalanga Mbombela, Mpul	
Sol Plaatje University 2013 2013 One of two new Kimberley, North	post-1994 institutions. Created in
17:L 1 - 11.	nern Lane

Sefako Makgatho	1960 &	2014	Reestablished in Ga-Rankuwa by separating the
Health Sciences	1976		previous Medical University of South Africa from the
University			University of Limpopo after they were merged in 2005.