Start your Experience!

New 


Institutional Student Representative Council (ISRC) Constitution Review

In June 2018, the Constitution of the Institutional Student Representative Council (ISRC) of the University of the Free State (UFS) was adopted by the UFS Council as a governing document that sets out the roles, functions, and powers of the ISRC and its substructures.

The document was adopted for Student Governance at the UFS in accordance with section 9 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, the Higher Education Act 101 of 1997, and the Statute of the University of the Free State.
 
This communique therefore serves to inform all students about the amendment and review process that is to commence with regard to the abovementioned document.

The consultation schedule provides a timeline for the consultation process that is aimed at consolidating inputs to be tabled to the UFS Council for final adoption and approval.

The UFS Department of Student Affairs encourages students to actively participate in the process as key stakeholders of the institution.

For more information, please contact the following persons:
1. Mr Vusumzi Gqalane at GqalaneV@ufs.ac.za
2. Mr Motlogelwa Moema at MoemaM@ufs.ac.za
3. Mr Dzulani Munzhelele at Munzheleled@ufs.ac.za



Enhancement of Off-Campus Student Safety

The UFS would like to remind students that the university has contracted armed-response companies to provide an off-campus armed-response service to students in certain identified areas. The initiation of the project was due to the overwhelming support from students and the successes achieved by the contracted armed-response services during the initial pilot project as well as over the past few months.  The armed-response service is available on a 24-hour basis for seven days a week, throughout the year. 

The service is available in the areas immediately surrounding the three campuses and highlights the university’s commitment to the safety of all its students.

The contact details to activate the service are as follows:

Bloemfontein Campus (in the suburbs of Brandwag, Park West, Universitas, Universitas Ridge, and Willows):
- UFS Protection Services Operational Centre – +27 51 401 2634 / +27 51 401 2911 / +27 080 020 4682
- Nissi Armed Response Control Room – +27 51 444 0550 / +27 73 790 1837

Qwaqwa Campus (in the area surrounding the campus):
- UFS Protection Services Operational Centre – +27 58 718 5460 / +27 58 718 5175 
- Falcon Security Solutions Control Room – +27 58 713 0240 / +27 66 439 6491

South Campus (in the area surrounding the campus):
- UFS Protection Services Operational Centre – +27 51 505 1217 / +27 51 505 1478
- Nissi Armed Response Control Room – +27 51 444 0550 / +27 73 790 1837


Register for the 2021 FutureLEAD Challenge (FLC) program

The Office for UFS Student Leadership Development invites all students to participate in the 2021 FutureLEAD Challenge (FLC) program, starting on 19 April 2021.

For more information about the FLC program and how to register, See attached document: FLC Registration 2021



Get connected with GlobalProtect


The UFS is proud to present GlobalProtect, a VPN portal that links you to learning resources for free while off campus. 

Please read through the Get connected with GlobalProtect document for instructions and tips on how to maximise the use of it.





Contact Details: Financial Aid offices on the three UFS campuses

Bloemfontein and South:
Arno Venter 051 401 2234 (ventera4@ufs.ac.za)
Tokelo Fako 051 401 7175 (fakota@ufs.ac.za)
Ntswaki Masoleng 051 401 7125 (Masolengnu@ufs.ac.za)
Thabiso Mbo 051 401 9894 (Mbota@ufs.ac.za)
Judy Mothibedi 051 401 7731 (Mothibedij@ufs.ac.za)
Tracey-Lee Smith (smitht2@ufs.ac.za)
Pulane Maine (mainep@ufs.ac.za)

Qwaqwa:
Lekhotla Lechoba 058 718 5198 (Lechoball@ufs.ac.za; student’s surnames A-L)
Tsoanelo Mosikili 058 718 5061 (Mosikilitf@ufs.ac.za; student’s surnames M)
Van Rooi Hlapane 058 718 3625 (Hlapanevj@ufs.ac.za; student’s surnames N-Z)




 

Connect with Student Affairs
Office of the Dean of Students

Office for Student Governance

Student Leadership Development

Student Counselling and Development




Qwaqwa Campus Students Play Soccer



Athletics new
2020 Stagedoor Finals



South Campus Students Studying

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.

Accept