The Advisory Board of the FSCHR was established in 2016 and convenes on a bi-annual basis.
Our Board consists of the following members:

1. Prof Caroline Nicholson (Chairperson, acting in her capacity as Dean of the Faculty of Law);
2. Prof André Keet (acting in his capacity as Director of the Institute for Reconciliation and Social Justice);
3. Judge Azar Cachalia (Judge, Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa);
4. Judge Mahube Molemela (Judge President, Free State High Court);
5. Adv Mohamed Ameermia (Commissioner, SAHRC);
6. Prof Frans Viljoen (Director, Centre for Human Rights at the University of Pretoria);
7. Prof Helene Strauss (Lecturer, Faculty of the Humanities, University of the Free State); and
8. Mr Tshepo Madlingozi (Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria).


  free state image

Front (from the left): Adv Mohamed Ameermia; Prof Caroline Nicholson; Judge Mahube Molemela; Prof Helene Strauss.
Back (from the left): Mr Tshepo Madlingozi; Mr JC van der Merwe (acting on behalf of Prof André Keet); Prof Leon Wessels (Acting Director: FSCHR); Prof Frans Viljoen.
Absent: Judge Azar Cachalia




Mrs Sophie Maasdorp
T: + 27 51 401 2451
F: + 27 51 401 3043


Equitas Building
UFS Bloemfontein Campus

Law photo for next to contact block