The Advisory Board of the FSCHR was established in 2016 and convenes on a bi-annual basis.
Our board consists of the following members:

1. Prof John C Mubangizi (Chairperson, in his capacity as Dean of the Faculty of Law);
2. Judge Azar Cachalia (Judge, Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa);
3. Judge Mahube Molemela (Judge President, Free State High Court);
4. Adv Mohamed Ameermia (Commissioner, SAHRC);
5. Prof Frans Viljoen (Director, Centre for Human Rights at the University of Pretoria);
6. Prof Helene Strauss (Lecturer, Faculty of The Humanities, University of the Free State);
7. Tshepo Madlingozi (Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria);
8. JC van der Merwe (in his capacity as acting Director of the Institute for Reconciliation and Social Justice); and
9. Pura Mgolombane (in his capacity as Dean: Student Affairs).






Mrs Sophie Maasdorp
T: + 27 51 401 2451
F: + 27 51 401 3043


Equitas Building
UFS Bloemfontein Campus

Law photo for next to contact block