The Advisory Board of the FSCHR was established in 2016, to advise the Centre on its activities and development. It convenes on a bi-annual basis.

Currently the Board consists of the following members:

  • Prof John C Mubangizi (Chairperson) (Dean, Faculty of Law, University of the Free State)
  • Adv Mohamed Ameermia (Commissioner, South African Human Rights Commission)
  • Judge Azar Cachalia (Judge, Supreme Court of Appeal)
  • Dr Tshepo Madlingozi (Director, Centre for Applied Legal Studies, University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Pura Mgolombane (Dean of Student Affairs, University of the Free State)
  • Judge Cagney Musi (Judge President, Free State High Court)
  • Prof Helene Strauss (Professor, Department of English, University of the Free State)
  • JC van der Merwe (Acting Director, Unit for Institutional Change, University of the Free State)
  • Prof Frans Viljoen (Director, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria)
  • Prof Leon Wessels (Retired Commissioner, South African Human Rights Commission, formerly Acting Director of the FSCHR)





T: +27 51 401 2451
F: + 27 51 401 3043


Equitas Building
UFS Bloemfontein Campus

Law photo for next to contact block

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.