Africa is the second largest of the seven continents and comprises about 23% of the earth's land mass.

The African continent straddles the equator and most of the land mass lies within the tropics.
The human population of Africa is currently (2005) estimated at more than 781 million people, comprising about 13% of the world population.

There are 47 mainland countries on the African continent, as well as six surrounding island nations.
Five countries (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Egypt) borders to the north on the Mediterranean Sea, while South Africa comprises the southernmost part of the continent; the continent is flanked to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and to the east by the Indian Ocean.


Faculty Manager: Velaphi Makgwahla
T: + 27 51 401 3199

Marketing Manager: Elfrieda Lötter
T: +27 51 401 2531

natwet homepage edit new2

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.