The Faculty of the Humanities aspires to academic excellence regarding the quality of its curricula and teaching, its students’ achievements and the professional accomplishments of its staff. Its mission is to generate, introduce/develop and disseminate knowledge, to stimulate critical intellectual investigation and to inspire innovation in students and academic staff by means of teaching, basic and applied research, and service delivery aimed at enriching and uplifting the community, the region, the country and the continent.

A premium is placed on intellectual freedom, integrity, responsibility, and equity.

Students can enrol in the following degrees:

  • BA (three years)
  • BA (Extended Curriculum) (four years)
  • BCD (four years) [Professional degree in Community Development]
The subjects offered are African Languages, English, History, Political Studies and Governance, Psychology, and Sociology.

Contact details:
Ms Mathapelo Mahlatsi | T: +27 58 718 5438 | E:

Assistant Dean:
Dr Cobus Rademeyer | T: +27 58 718 5438 |F: +27 58 718 5447 | E:



Qwaqwa Campus
Private Bag X13
+27 58 718 5000

QQ home page