• Research at the UFS
    National 3MT competition held at UFS
    From Neanderthal hybrid children to eating corn silk as a way of managing kidney diseases, the National Three Minute Thesis competition captivated the mind.
    Read more
  • Research at the UFS
    Discovery in Scorpius constellation may signify clean energy for Earth
    Earlier this year, a group of international astronomers announced the discovery of an exotic binary star system, AR Scorpii.
    Read more
  • Research at the UFS
    UFS paper published in Nature Communications
    Extending new discoveries in the deep subsurface.
    Read more

NRF Rated Research


The National Research Foundation’s (NRF) rating system is a benchmarking system through which individuals that exemplifies the highest standards of research, as well as those demonstrating strong potential as researchers, are identified by an extensive network of South African and international peer reviewers. Ratings are based on the quality and impact of recent research outputs (over an eight-year period).

Apart from research output, the quality and impact of research at tertiary institutions in South Africa are also reflected in the number of rated scientists, identified through the NRF rating system. Awards are valid for a period of six years.

The most distinguished categories are:

  • A - for researchers regarded as world leaders in their fields
  • B - for researchers that enjoy considerable international recognition by their peers
  • C - for researchers regarded as established in their field, and
  • P - for young researchers, with exceptional potential, who are likely to become future international leaders in their fields

A list of NRF rated researchers 2017 at the UFS as on 4 August 2017.
Share this page
© 2000 - UFS, Bloemfontein Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Access to Information Developed by ICT Services