01 October 2018 | Story UFS | Photo Johan Roux
Newly elected South Campus SRC
Newly elected South Campus SRC with campus principal Prof Daniella Coetzee and Dean of Student Affairs, Pura Mgolombane.

The University of the Free State’s (UFS) 2018/2019 SRC elections on the Bloemfontein and Qwaqwa Campuses solidified institutional transformation with the implementation of the newly adopted Constitution of the Institutional Student Representative Council (ISRC). 

The 2018/2019 elections marked the first ever SRC elections on the South Campus, which will take place on two legs because of the residential period of qualifications on the South Campus. Based on this, only the elective portfolios of Deputy-President, Secretary, and Student Development and First-Generation Students were elected. The next leg of the CSRC elections on the South Campus will take place in March 2019, when the elective portfolios of President, Treasurer, Policy and Transformation, and Commuter Students will be elected.

After a meticulous nomination process, Campus Student Representative Councils (CSRC) were elected for the Bloemfontein and Qwaqwa Campuses.
The outcome of the UFS CSRC elections tallied 6 912 votes on the Bloemfontein Campus, 3 216 on the Qwaqwa Campus, and 419 votes on the South Campus.

Newly elected 2018/2019 Bloemfontein Campus ISRC President, Sonwabile Dwaba, thanked students for respecting democratic processes, and for their maximum participation throughout the election procedures. He assured students that they did not make a mistake by appointing him as their president and added, “I condemn all forms of violence against women”. He also pleaded with students to always pursue justice for victims of any form of violence within the margins of the law.

Sakhile Mnguni, Qwaqwa Campus CSRC President, celebrated his victory with a whopping 65% of the votes. He emphasised the importance of ongoing dialogue to avoid what he termed ‘problems’ at a later stage. “Like a traffic light, let’s discuss matters when conditions are still conducive and not wait until the light turns red, for that’s when discussions are no longer conducive,” he said.

According to the amended constitution, the newly elected ISRC members must represent the interests of the student community in all representations and interactions with UFS structures, as well as with the public. The ISRC will also serve as ambassadors of the UFS at other institutions, organisations, and entities.

Bloemfontein Campus list of results:

Elective Portfolios:

President: Sonwabile Dwaba (EFF-SC)

Vice-President: Bokang Fako (EFF-SC)

Secretary General: Khanya Ralarala (EFF-SC)

Treasurer General: Emmanuel Viwe Mqushulu (EFF-SC)

Policy and Transformation: Koketso Mathews Khunou (EFF-SC)

Student Development and First-Generation Students: Serame Patrick Sebudi (EFF-SC)

Commuter Students: Nasmé Puley (INDEPENDENT)

Ex-Officio Portfolios CSRC Members

Day Residence Student Council: Jon-Dylon Petersen

Arts and Culture Student Council: Patrick Chrilele

Student Associations: Thato Dlamini

Academic Council: Pauline Mugerwa

Postgraduate Students: Seithati Ramonaheng

International Students: Omar-Raphael Tabengwa

Sports Affairs: Katleho Lechoo

Student Organisational Council: Ntsitsa Ned

Civic and Social Responsibility: Chéri Matjila

On-Campus Residences: Thabang Sako

Qwaqwa Campus list of results:

President: Sakhile Khulekani Mnguni (SASCO)

Deputy President: Mongezi Miracle Khethwa (SASCO)

Secretary General: Selloane Antonett Mile (SASCO) 

Treasurer General: Andiswa Sibonelo Khumalo (SASCO)

Policy and Transformation: Lwanele Reginald Madonsela (SASCO) 

Student Development and First-Generation Students: Makalo Tsuluba (SASCO)

Commuter Students: Bongumenzi Siphelele Praiseworth Mdakane (SASCO) 
Media and Publicity: Patricia Ntomfuthi Kubheka (SASCO) 

Ex-Officio Portfolios CSRC Members

Associations and Religious Affairs Student Council:
Lindokuhle Sydney Vilakazi

Campus Residence Council: Motshedisi Fortitude Raliphoko

Arts and Culture Council: Ntandoyenkosi Khumalo

Academic Council: Duduzile Ritter Mhlongo

Universal Access and Social Justice Council: Senomfundo Mhlongo

Postgraduate Student Council: Teboho Mofokeng

International Student Council: Omotayo Ashafa

Sports Affairs: Lebohang Hendry Miya

South Campus list of results:

Deputy President: Nomathemba Pakade

Secretary: Mvuyo Madlala

Student Development and First-Generation Students: Allistaire Abrahams

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.