11 September 2018 Photo Stephen Collett
Outstanding Alumni awarded
Attending the awards evening were from the left: Dr Mafu Rakometsi; Gustav Wilson; Dr Pieter du Toit, National Executive Alumni Chairperson; Ace Moloi; Dr Khotso Mokhele; Prof Dave Lubbe; Dr Suzanne Staples; Prof Francis Petersen; Bertus Jacobs, and Tshepo Moloi.

A medical doctor, an economist, an author, and experts in the fields of Information Technology, Education, Management and Sociology are the winners of this year’s Chancellor’s Distinguished Alumni Awards

This is the 36th year that the UFS honours those alumni who are not only flying the Kovsie flag high, but are inspiring excellence and transforming lives.

Chancellor’s Challenge

UFS Chancellor Dr Khotso Mokhele had a sobering message for those who attended the awards ceremony on 8 September. He shared how, on a recent visit to the US, he had a chance to visit the campus of Facebook in Seattle, and heard how every year Facebook received more than two million CVs from prospective employees – 98% of whom sported A-average grades. Management then confided in him that they never hired a CV, but rather a mindset.

“They sift through all those applications, looking for someone with a vision to disrupt the status quo,” Mokhele said. “This continent will be left behind if we don’t adopt that mindset – that confidence that borders on arrogance – that we can change the world. Are we ready for that challenge?” 

The recipients in the various categories are:

Chancellor's Distinguished Alumnus of the Year:       
Danie Meintjes – Former Group Chief Executive Officer of Mediclinic

Cum Laude Awards
Dr Mafu Rakometsi ¬ Chief Executive Officer of the Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education and Training (Umalusi)
Dr Suzanne Staples, Principal Investigator at the Tuberculosis & HIV Investigative Network (THINK)

Kovsie Ambassador Awards
Tshepo Moloi – Economist at the South African Reserve Bank
Bertus Jacobs – Chief Technology Officer at IoT.nxt
Gustav Wilson, Regional Head (Development and Care) Department of Correctional Services 

Executive Management Award

Prof Dave Lubbe – Research Fellow and Professor at UFS School of Accountancy.

Young Alumnus of the Year
Ace Moloi – Author and literary consultant

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.