04 September 2018 Photo Thabo Kessah
Political tolerance and maturity displayed during Qwaqwa Campus SRC elections
SRC President Sakhile Mnguni, Dr Martin Mandew, and Grey Magaiza leading a ceremonial walk to the SRC Chambers for the first SRC sitting.

The 2018/2019 SRC elections at the University of the Free State’s Qwaqwa Campus displayed one of the highest levels of political tolerance and maturity in the country. This is according to Grey Magaiza, Chairperson of the institutional Electoral Logistics Committee (ELC) that ran the elections on behalf of Student Affairs on campus.

“All the processes leading up to and including the elections, counting of votes, and subsequent announcement of results, were conducted in a jovial and almost jubilant mood,” Magaiza said.

“In as far as the results are concerned, there was an increased voter turnout of more than 10% across the board, as shown by the comparison per portfolio between 2017 and 2018. Reasons for this could be an increase in political activism, candidate or structure popularity, as well as increase in student numbers on the campus.”

In his acceptance speech, Sakhile Mnguni, who amassed a whopping 65% of presidential votes, emphasised dialogue to avoid what he termed ‘problems’ at a later stage. “Like a traffic light, let’s discuss matters when conditions are still conducive and not wait until the light turns red, for that’s when discussions are no longer conducive,” he said.
In his congratulatory message to the newly-elected SRC, the Campus Principal, Dr Martin Mandew, reminded the student leadership that, “You are not in it for yourselves, but for those who elected you and the general student community. Remember that leadership is service.”

“Being in leadership is a privilege,” he added. “Leaders come and go, so you better handle leadership with care, for it’s very fragile. Take this as an opportunity to place your leadership skills at a higher level. Integrity, honesty, and compassion are key attributes that will ensure your success.”

Full list of results:

Elective Portfolios:

President: Sakhile Khulekani Mnguni (SASCO)
Deputy President: Mongezi Miracle Khethwa (SASCO)
Secretary General: Selloane Antonett Mile (SASCO) 
Treasurer General: Andiswa Sibonelo Khumalo (SASCO)
Policy and Transformation: Lwanele Reginald Madonsela (SASCO)
Student Development and First-Generation Students: Makalo Tsuluba (SASCO)
Commuter Students: Bongumenzi Siphelele Praiseworth Mdakane (SASCO)
Media and Publicity: Patricia Ntomfuthi Kubheka (SASCO)

Ex Officio Portfolios:

Associations and Religious Affairs Student Council: Lindokuhle Sydney Vilakazi 
Campus Residence Council: Motshedisi Fortitude Raliphoko 
Arts and Culture Council: Ntandoyenkosi Khumalo 
Academic Council: Duduzile Ritter Mhlongo
Universal Access and Social Justice Council: Senomfundo Mhlongo 
Postgraduate Student Council: Teboho Mofokeng 
International Student Council: Omotayo Ashafa 
Sports Affairs: Lebohang Hendry Miya

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.