The University of the Free State has produced a crop of excellent alumni who have placed the university on the world stage. The 37th annual Chancellor’s Distinguished Alumni Awards exists to both acknowledge and honour individuals for achievements in both their personal capacity and occupational fields.

Nominations are invited in five categories, namely: The Chancellor’s Distinguished Alumnus of the Year AwardYoung Alumnus of the Year Award, Cum Laude Award, Executive Management Award, and the Kovsie Ambassador Award, which is bestowed upon a current student whose achievements have brought distinction to him/her, benefited his/her community, and brought credit to the University of the Free State.

Previous recipients of the Chancellor’s Distinguished Alumni Awards include the movie personality, Leon Schuster; Free State Education MEC, Tate Makgoe; Blitzbokke coach, Neil Powell; Olympic athlete, Wayde van Niekerk; former Miss World, Rolene Strauss; Roelf Meyer; and Judge President of the Free State High Court, Madam Justice Mahube Molemela.

Nominations can be submitted in writing to the Alumni Office at using the Alumni Awards Nomination Form 2019  before 12:00 on 26 July 2019.

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.