• Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
    NASA Deep Space Navigation engineer presents at Naval Hill Planetarium
    His visit to the UFS included a presentation to the Department of Astrophysics and at the Naval Hill Planetarium in Bloemfontein.
    Read more
  • Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
    Postgraduate student to conduct research on maize quality at Michigan State University
    The title of her master’s research project is: “The influence of low and optimal nitrogen conditions on the nutritional value of quality protein maize”.
    Read more
  • Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
    Predation Management Centre helps stock farmers to address predator problem
    Predators are costing the livestock industry about R2 billion annually.
    Read more

Chemistry Home

Description: Chemistry Keywords: University, Free State, Bloemfontein, UFS, Natural, Agricultural, Science, Chemistry, Department, NMR, Equipment

The Department of Chemistry is spread over the three UFS campuses - the South campus concentrates on the extended B.Sc program as well as the bridging courses (UPP program), the Qwa-Qwa campus caters to the local residential students and specializes in Polymer Science research, and the main campus teaches approximately 1000 undergraduate students and does research in all four classic divisions in Chemistry: Analytical, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry. The post-graduate students at the department include approximately 20 Honours, 18 M.Sc., and 29 Ph.D students as well as 13 post-doctoral associates from as far as India, Germany, the Netherlands, Sudan and Zimbabwe. The commitment and enthusiasm of Chemistry’s personnel and students were clearly demonstrated by the research outputs of 2016 as manifested by the 71 articles published in national and international accredited journals and 31 presentations made at local and international conferences; 5 Ph.D. and 10 M.Sc. students graduated from the department.

Please contact us if you are interested in research or a career in Chemistry. South Africa needs scientists to unlock our mineral wealth and to create jobs.

Research equipment available in the department includes:

  • High-performance computing centre
  • 300, 400, and 600 MHz NMR spectrometers
  • Single-crystal and powder X-ray diffractometers
  • Inductive coupled-plasma (ICP-OES) spectrometer
  • DSC and TGA equipment
  • Gas (GC) and high-performance liquid (HPLC) chromatography
  • Electrochemistry (CV, SW, and LSV)
  • High-pressure and industrial/research microwave reactors

Research areas and groups in the department:

Principal researchers:

For details on postgraduate bursaries (Hons, MSc, and PhD) and postdoctoral positions available in the Department of Chemistry at the UFS, click here.

Address: Department of Chemistry
  University of the Free State
  PO Box 339
Tel: +27 51 401 9212
Fax: +27 51 401 7295
Contact: Walter Purcell
Tel: +27 51 401 2200
Email: PurcellW@ufs.ac.za


Share this page
© 2000 - UFS, Bloemfontein Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Access to Information Developed by ICT Services