Staff Achievements

Dr Marietjie Schutte-Smith received the faculty award for the ‘Best module’ and Tessa Swarts received the faculty award for the ‘Best Support Staff, in the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences”.

Prof Jeanet Conradie was appointed as visiting professor in Inorganic and Materials Chemistry at the Department of Chemistry of The Arctic University of Norway (UiT). She was also a co-author of an article displayed on the front page of Inorganic Chemistry 2019 58 (12) 7677-7689.

In December 2019, Dr Anke Wilhelm received a Y2 rating and Prof Vladimir Azov a C2 rating from the NRF.

Dr Alice Brink’s publication was recommended in F1000Prime as being of “special significance in its field”.  (Brink, A. & Helliwell, J. 2019. Why is interoperability between the two fields of chemical crystallography and protein crystallography so difficult? IUCrJ 6(5): 788-793. {Vicens Q: F1000Prime Recommendation of [Brink A and Helliwell JR, IUCrJ 2019 6(5):788-793]. In F1000Prime, 07 Oct 2019; 10.3410/f.736544810.793565710}).

Dr Brink was invited to join the Free State branch of the GCRF START Program (Synchrotron Techniques for African Research and Technology) in association with the Department of Biochemistry.

Prof Roodt was invited to serve on a special Panel Discussion at the NRF conference on Applied Systems Analysis and Africa in Pretoria (3-4 December 2019) and to act a guest editor for a special issue of the South African Journal of Science and Technology/Suid-Afrikaanse Tydskrif vir Natuurwetenskap en Tegnologie, on ‘Structure/ Reactivity Relationships of Materials’.

The installation of the R13 Million X-ray Diffractometer system, driven by Prof Andreas Roodt (PI) and Dr Alice Brink (Co-PI) within the Crystallographic Laboratory, was completed. Prof Roodt was also was elected honorary member of the Croatian Crystallographic Society.

Student Achievements

Two students from the Conradie group (Emmie Chiyindiko and NGS Mateyise) won poster prizes for the best poster presented in Symposium 14, Molecular Electrochemistry at the 70th Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry,

Mr FJF Jacobs (Inorganic Chemistry) presented at the Biophysics and Structural Biology at Synchrotrons Workshop in Cape Town, and was awarded the Outstanding Poster Prize. Jacobs was also awarded an independent bursary to attend the HTCC 4 - Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

Shaun Redgard (Team Captain), with members Edward Lee (Department of Physics) and Chantelle Booysen (Department of Haematology and Cell Biology), were crowned winners of the 2019 International Natural Sciences Tournament (INST), the ninth in the series, of which the final stage was held at the Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) in Tallinn, Estonia, from 1 to 5 February 2019.

At the annual faculty prize-giving ceremony, the following students received prizes as best students (2018) in the different categories:  Mr T Theunissen (2nd year), Mr G Swart (Merck prize for best 3rd year), Miss Z Bezuidenhoudt (best Honours), and Miss RMN Moragoa (PETLabs prize for best MSc thesis), and Dr DV Kama (Bruker prize for PhD thesis).


Elfrieda van den Berg (Marketing Manager)
T: +27 51 401 2531


Dilahlwane Mohono (Faculty Officer)
T: +27 58 718 5284

Home new

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.