The School of Biomedical Sciences comprises the following departments and Units:

The student administration teams are responsible for

02_Webtuiste foto BMW-b

Quality improvements to our estates and clinical training platform capacity 

In the last few years a number of quality enhancements to our estates and clinical training platform capacity has occurred:

  • The School of Medicine was divided into three schools:
  • The development of state-of-the-art teaching and learning facilities in the new James Moroka Building with extension of lecture theatres to accommodate big classrooms from 2018
  • The new Muller Potgieter Building hosts the student administration teams, including the offices of the three heads of schools and the MB ChB Programme Director.
  • A magnificent Clinical Simulation and Skills Unit that would not be out of place in any top ten medical school worldwide is now operational and used for student training,
  • A brand new state-of-the-art anatomy building and dissection facilities were built during 2014 and opened for use during the 2015 academic year.
  • New next generation GMO unit in Biomedical Science and Indigenous Knowledge Systems in Clinical Medicine 



Central Information Office
T: +27 51 401 3739
F: +27 86 579 5154


Student Administration
Faculty Administration

Health sciences block next to contact