Description: Physics Keywords: HESS Image

The group consists of:

  • Prof PJ Meintjes
  • Prof R Gray (Visiting Academic)
  • Dr B van Soelen
  • Dr HJ van Heerden
  • Ms H Szegedi (MSc student)
  • Mr IP van der Westhuizen (PhD student)
  • Mr JP Marais (PhD student)

The research focus of the group is:

  • Multi-wavelength studies of high energy and very high energy sources – Galactic and Extra-Galactic.
  • The group is part of the H.E.S.S. Collaboration and CTA Collaboration.
  • Prof PJ Meintjes is one of the research group leaders of the H.E.S.S. Collaboration studying gamma-ray sources.
  • Dr B van Soelen is the optical coordinator for the H.E.S.S. Collaboration.
  • Multi-wavelength studies of transient emissions from accretion driven sources using MeerKAT.
  • Research using multiple instruments, such as SALT, SAAO 1.9 m Spectroscopy, Boyden, XMM-Newton, Chandra, Swift, Fermi and AGILE.
  • Theoretical modelling trying to explain observational data.


Faculty Manager: Velaphi Makgwahla
T: + 27 51 401 3199

Marketing Manager: Elfrieda Lötter
T: +27 51 401 2531

natwet homepage edit new2

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.