Since 1950, we have recognised individual excellence through our honorary awards, honorary doctorates, shields of honour, Council medals, and Chancellor’s Medals. Some of these individuals include:

  • E van Heerden: Late South African poet – DLitt 1991
  • NR Mandela: Late former South African President – LLD 2001
  • P Gordhan: Former South African Minister of Finance – PhD 2010
  • D Tutu: First black Archbishop of Cape Town – DTh 2011
  • OG Winfrey: American media proprietor and philanthropist – DEd 2011
  • M Nussbaum: American philosopher with 56 honorary degrees from universities across the world – DLitt 2012
  • MA Oduyoye: Africa’s first and foremost woman theologian – DTh 2015
  • TA Manuel: Former South African Minister of Finance – DEcon 2
List of honorary awards, honorary doctorates, and Council and Chancellor's Medals

UFS Honorary awards

UFS News
FNB Grant
Students with disabilities thrive with support of FNB grant

Social Justice week
Important discussions during UFS Social Justice Week

Art exibition
National Lotteries Commission funded projects, the pride of UFS

Spontaneous Science ambassador
Spontaneous Science ambassadors bring message home

Andrew Lane
Industry expert Andrew Lane talks future of Mining industry in SA

Dr Faith Mkwananzi
Book gives compelling account of migrants’ education

Vishuis aiming for number seven

Web logo for statements
Agreement between UFS management and the ISRC regarding deregistration process

Career Services
UFS Career Services develops employable students

Disability support taken up a few notches on Qwaqwa Campus

Ergonomics – making your space practical and comfortable

Leading women honoured at faculty opening —STORY EUGENE SEEGERS
Leading women honoured at faculty opening

NSFAS logo latest news
UPDATE: General NSFAS information

Tsietsi Ngobese
Graduate survives horrific road accident