Jeanne-Louise & Grethe In Concert


15 February 2018



Violist Jeanne-Louise Moolman and pianist Grethe Nöthling presents this exciting, diverse and challenging programme of works by Brahms, Hofmeyr and Clarke.

Jeanne-Louise was appointed as violist of the Odeion String Quartet and senior lecturer at the OSM in 2008. She studied at the University of Pretoria under Prof Alan Solomon, where she obtained the BMus and BMusHons degrees with distinction. She subsequently also studied in Salzburg under Thomas Riebl. She won, among others, the ATKV Forté and Oude Meester competitions and in 1985 she was the first winner of the University of Natal 75th Anniversary Prize. She is an experienced musician who regularly performs with some of our country’s foremost musicians in various chamber music combinations. Other musicians with whom she has performed, include the violists Gérard Korsten, Philippe Graffin, the pianists Leslie Howard and Albie van Schalkwyk, and the clarinettist Robert Pickup. Jeanne-Louise has given numerous solo performances in South Africa and in Zimbabwe. As soloist, she has performed with various orchestras in the country, among them the KZNPO (Durban), the Chamber Orchestra of South Africa (Pretoria), NAPOP (Pretoria) and the Free State Symphony Orchestra (Bloemfontein). Jeanne-Louise has had more than twenty years of experience as principal violist of several professional orchestras in Gauteng and the Free State.

Grethe made her musical debut performing as soloist with the Johannesburg Symphony Orchestra. She won several national music competitions, awards and bursaries including the Sanlam Music Competition (1994), ABSA National Music Competition (Piano Category, 1998), ATKV Prelude Competition (2000), Hennie Joubert National Piano Competition (2000), Lionel Bowman Beethoven Competition (2001) and UNISA Overseas Scholarship for Teachers (2003). She has been a soloist with major orchestras in the country between 1989 and 2005 including the Cape Town Philharmonic, KZNPO and the Chamber Orchestra of South Africa. Grethe is an avid chamber musician and has performed with guest artists and faculty members of the University of Iowa, including Nicole Esposito, Anthony Arnone, Melissa Kraut, Larry Stomberg and Sarah Frisof. She completed a BMus degree (cum laude) at the University of Pretoria under Ella Fourie and Joseph Stanford. In 2006 she continued her studies abroad and completed her MMus at the Cleveland Institute of Music (2008) and DMus (2014) at the University of Iowa (US). Her teachers included Daniel Shapiro (CIM), Paul Schenly (CIM) and Uriel Tsachor (UIowa). During her studies at the University of Iowa she was appointed as teaching assistant for three years. In 2015 she returned to South Africa and in 2016 she was appointed as principal piano lecturer at the OSM.


  • Brahms: Sonata in F major, Op. 120 No. 2
  • Hendrik Hofmeyr: Viola Sonata
  • Rebecca Clarke: Sonata for viola and piano


  • R120 (adults)
  • *R80 (pensioners)
  • *R70 (UFS staff)
  • *R50 (students, learners and block bookings of 10+)

Tickets available at Computicket or online at

*Please note that tickets for pensioners, students, learners and UFS staff can only be purchased at a Computicket outlet (Shoprite Checkers) or at the doors since a valid card or ID has to be presented to qualify for the above mentioned discount.


Ninette Pretorius (tel. 051 401 2504)

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.