Handel the Great

The Odeion Baroque Ensemble of the OSM presents

Handel the Great

Wednesday 25 April 2018



The Odeion Baroque Ensemble presents this concert – Handel the Great. This concert consists of a variety of some of the most attractive and popular works by Georg Friedrich Handel (1685 - 1759). The famous Water Music, concerto’s and arias are on the programme. The artists who will perform, include members of the Henkins family – Tilla, Francois, Brahm, and Alba; the Kriges – Petrus and Maretha; Kimberley based oboist Kobus Malan; percussionist Heinrich Lategan and tenor Lance Phillip.

Petrus Krige arranged the works on the programme for an ensemble of violins, violas, cello, double bass, three recorders, two oboes, bassoon, harpsichord, organ, Baroque timpani and tenor.

The guaranteed highlight on the programme will be the Water Music and Music for the Royal Fireworks. Handel composed his Water Music with the arrival of the new King George I on the Thames river. This king was Handel’s employer before (in Hannover). Thirty five years later he composed the Music for the Royal Fireworks for 59 wind instruments. About 12 000 people attended the performance in Green Park.

Lance Phillip will open the programme with the popular Where’er you walk from Semele - a Shakespeare sonnet set to music. He will also perform a complete secular cantata and give a rendition of opera extracts from Rodelinda.

The rest of the programme will consist of concerto’s for violin and oboe. Handel himself was a violinist and oboist. His only Violin Concerto, with demanding technical abilities, will be performed by Francois Henkins. Handel is most likely the most prominent composers of organ concerto’s. Maretha Krige plays the first and second movement from a lesser known organ concerto.

Where’er you walk, an aria from Semele
Adagio, from Organ Concerto in D minor
Excerpts from the three Water Music suites
Look down, harmonious Saint
Oboe Concerto in G minor
Violin Concerto in B-flat major (Sonata à 5)
Fatto inferno and Pastorello, from opera Rodelinda
Excerpts from Music for the Royal Fireworks


  • R120 (adults)
  • *R80 (pensioners)
  • *R70 (UFS staff)
  • *R50 (students, learners and block bookings of 10+)

Tickets available at Computicket or online at http://online.computicket.com/web/

*Please note that tickets for pensioners, students, learners and UFS staff can only be purchased at a Computicket outlet (Shoprite Checkers) or at the doors since a valid card or ID has to be presented to qualify for the above mentioned discount.

Ninette Pretorius (tel. 051 401 2504 / pretoriusn@ufs.ac.za)

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.