FSSO Symphony concert - Soloist: Zanta Hofmeyr (Violin)

FSSO Symphony concert
Thursday 22 October 2009

Soloist: Zanta Hofmeyr (Violin)
Conductor: Conrad van Alphen

The internationally acclaimed conductor Conrad van Alphen will conduct the Free State Symphony Orchestra for the final symphony concert of this year in the Odeion on 22 October. To commemorate Felix Mendelssohn’s 200th anniversary, the FSSO has included works by this famous composer in all the programmes. Violinist Zanta Hofmeyr will be the soloist in one of his most popular works: the Violin Concerto in E minor at this concert. The rest of the programme will consist of Rossini’s La Cenerentola Overture and Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 (“Jupiter”).

Conrad van Alphen is the chief conductor of the Rotterdam Chamber Orchestra and much in demand by other orchestras throughout the world. He often conducts orchestras in the Netherlands, England, Germany, Bulgaria, Russia, Slovenia, Poland, China and Mexico.

Zanta Hoefmeyr is one of our country’s leading violinists. Her recordings include "Zanta Hofmeyr plays Arioso" with organist Wim Viljoen and "Romantic Violin" with pianist Malcolm Nay. Zanta includes a lot of chamber music in her concert schedule. As a member of the Musaion Piano Trio, she toured extensively in South Africa and the Netherlands in 2004.
In 2004 she was awarded a Rapport/City Press "Woman of the Year" award and in 2005 the ATKV "Afrikoon" award.

Zanta loves roses and was particularly honoured when Ludwig Tassner presented her with a new "Zanta Hofmeyr" rose in 2003.

R90 (adults)
R70 ((pensioners, students and learners)
R50 for group bookings of 10 or more
Tickets available at Computicket (at all Shoprite / Checkers shops, Mimosa Mall information desk) and at the doors.
Computicket www.computicket.com  

Ella Kotze, tel. 051 – 401 2342

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.