04 April 2019 19:30
Odeion Auditorium

Tickets: @Computicket and door
R130 Adults
R70 Pensioners
R50 UFS Students & Learners

The OSM DEAN’S CONCERT (previously known as the OSM OPENING CONCERT) is scheduled to take place on 4 April at 19h30. Prof Heidi Hudson, Dean of the Faculty of Humanities at the University of the Free State, has accepted the role as the official patron of the concert.

The main purpose of this concert is to create a professional performance opportunity for gifted OSM students and simultaneously showcase the excellence of the OSM. For some students this will be their debute on a professional concert stage. Recitals during this concert will be recorded and selected items are will be broadcasted on national radio stations as well as OSM CONCERT HALL on YOUTUBE and other OSM social media podia.

The ORDER OF THE OSM is annually awarded during this event. The main objective is to publicly honour and acknowledge individuals and / or assemblies who made an extraordinary contribution to the OSM or the national music landscape. This year former OSM clarinet lecturer Mr Heinrich Armer will be the recipient.

The concert is strategically positioned as a benefit concert with the main aim to raise funds, for study bursaries for future OSM students.

The soloists will be René Ferreira, (recorder, class of Dr Petrus Krige), Mirriam Bokala (soprano, class of Leana Lötter), Chris van Zyl (cello, class of Prof Anmari van der Westhuizen), Naledi Dweba (clarinet, class of Dr Danré Strydom), Nina Cilliers (flute ,class of Handri Loots) as well as Charity Leburu (soprano ,class of Albertus Engelbrecht).

Chamber music will be performed by percussionist lecturer Heinrich Lategan and his students. They will recite Clapping Music (1972) by Stephan Reich while Viola lecturer Jeanne – Louise Moolman will recite a new work entitled Glances and a Glass of wine by Tsepo Tsotetsi in collaboration with her students.

The OSM Camerata will recite the Piano Concerto in d minor BWV 1052 by Johann Sebastian Bach under the baton of Elsabe Raath with Anneke Lamont as soloist. The Free State Youth Wind Ensemble under the baton of Danre Strydom will close the concert with Arioso by Johann Sebastian Bach (arranged by J de Haan) as well as the The Blues Brothers Revue (arranged by J Bocook).


We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.