Dr Hayat Alvi

Hayat Alvi is an Associate Professor at the U.S. Naval War College in the National Security Affairs Department since 2007.

She specializes in international relations, political economy and comparative politics with regional expertise in the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia. She also specializes in Islamic studies and genocide studies. She is proficient in Arabic and Urdu and is a Fulbright Fellow (Syria, 1993-94).

Dr Jakkie Cilliers

Dr Jakkie Cilliers is the founder and former Executive Director of the Institute for Security Studies. He currently serves as Chairman of the ISS Board of Trustees and Head of the African Futures and Innovation Programme in the Pretoria office of the Institute.

Dr Cilliers is an Extraordinary Professor in the Centre of Human Rights and the Department of Political Sciences, Faculty Humanities at the University of Pretoria.

Roy Jankielsohn

Dr Roy Jankielsohn is the DA Leader in the Provincial Legislature and the Caucus Leader. He also represents the DA in the committees on Agriculture & Rural Development.

He is a member of the Agriculture, Rural Economic Development, Small Business, Sport, Arts and Culture Committees of the Free State Legislature since 3rd June 2019.

Prof Moses Khanyile

Prof Moses Khanyile currently serves as a non-executive director at Armscor, a managing director at Masharps College, an external supervisor at Unisa’s Graduate School of Business Leadership and project leader for the National Defence Industry Council’s Strategy Development team. He was one of the members of the Defence Review Committee that was tasked with writing the new Defence Review, which was approved by Parliament in 2015. Prof. Khanyile worked in the Department of Defence as Director: Planning and Programming before joining Barclays Africa as General Manager: Strategy and Business Sustainment. He is the incoming Director of the Centre for Military Studies (CEMIS) at the South African Military Academy.

Idriss Mounir Lallali

I M Lallali, is the Deputy-Director of the African Centre for the Study and Research on Terrorism (ACSRT); Member of a Multidisciplinary Team designated by the AU to launch the Centre.

Lallali is the founder of Aymen Erys Security Group (AESG), the first private Security Training & Consulting Company in Algeria, which designs state of the art training programmes for the security industry and advises its clients in matters relating to Security Management, Crime Prevention, Risk Management, Physical Security, Counterterrorism, Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP), Country Risk Analysis, and Alert and Prevention Systems.

Lallali is a member of the High Level Working Group on Combating Illicit Drug Trafficking between the Federal Drug Control Services of Russia and the African Union Commission and also a member of the Editorial Board of the African Journal for the Prevention and Combating of Terrorism and the AU Africa Terrorism Situation Analysis Report.

Thabo Leonard Mofokeng

Mofokeng is the Secretary of the Free State Legislature and the Secretary-General of the National Executive Committee of South Africa Legislatures Secretaries Association (SALSA) since 2010.

He is the Chairperson of the Editorial Board for Africa Region Journal: The Parliamentarian International – House of Commons: London.

Masafumi Sugano

Masafumi Sugano currently serve as the Chief Representative in Africa of METI (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), as well as the Representative in Africa for JETRO (Japan External Trade Organization). He joined the Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry (METI) in April 2001. From September 2009 till June 2012, he served as First Secretary in charge of Economic Affairs at the Embassy of Japan in South Africa. In July 2012, Sugano was appointed Director for Africa at the Trade Policy Bureau of METI. In June 2015, he became the Acting Director at the Textile Industry Division (renamed Lifestyle Industry Division since July 2016) of the Manufacturing Policy Bureau at METI. Prior to his current position, Sugano had assumed the office of Director of the International Cooperation Office at the International Policy Division of the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport, and Tourism (MLIT) since July 2017.


T: +27 51 401 2240 or humanities@ufs.ac.za

Marizanne Cloete: +27 51 401 2592

Katlego Mabulana: +27 51 401 2495
Juanita Hlongwane: +27 51 401 3269

Humanities photo next to contact block

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.