Explore Qwaqwa Campus

The Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences offers more than 160 internationally-accredited undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. Students can enrol for the following BSc degrees:

  • Undergraduate three-year degree (Mainstream Programme)
  • Undergraduate four-year degree (UPP and Extended Programme)

The learning programmes on the Qwaqwa Campus include Biological Sciences (Botany, Zoology, and Life Sciences), Chemical and Physical Sciences (Physics and Chemistry, and Chemistry and Botany), Information Technology (IT and Management, IT and Chemistry, IT and Physics), Geosciences (Environmental Geography, Geography, and Life Sciences; and Geography and Tourism), and Mathematical Sciences (Mathematics and Physics, Mathematics and Chemistry, and Mathematics and Computer Sciences).

Postgraduate programmes

Honours, Master’s, and PhD in Polymer Science

Computer Sciences and Informatics
Honours, Master’s and PhD in Computer Information/Computer Science

GeographyHonours in Geography (BA and BSc)MA/MSc: Geography/Environmental GeographyPhD: Geography/Environmental Geography/Human Geography



Honours, Master’s, and PhD in Physics (Renewable Energy and Electronics)

Plant Sciences
Honours, Master’s, and PhD in Botany (Plant Reproductive/Pollination Biology, Proteomics, and Phytomedicine/Ethnobotany)

Zoology and Entomology
Honours, Master’s, and PhD in Zoology (Entomology, Animal Behaviour, Parasitology, Ecotoxicology, and Immunology)


Contact details: Office of the Dean

Assistant Dean

Dr AOT Ashafa
Room 1008, Old Science Building
T: +27 58 718 5313
E: Ashafaot@ufs.ac.za

Faculty Secretary
TS Makoko
Room 1008, Old Science Building 
T: +27 58718 5314
E: makokots@ufs.ac.za
Faculty Officer 
Dilahlwane Mohono
Room 1012/2, Old Science Building
T: +27 58 718 5284
E: mohonodm@ufs.ac.za


Departments and Subject Heads


K Mpitso 
T: +27 58 718 5136
E: MpitsoK@ufs.ac.za 

Computer Sciences 

Fanie Radebe

T: +27 58 718 5217
E: radebeFM@ufs.ac.za


S Adelabu
T: +27 58 718 5487 
E: AdelabuSA@ufs.ac.za


S Mbambo
T: +27 58 718 5201 
E: MbamboSP@ufs.ac.za

Plant Sciences 

Dr Lisa Komoreng  

T: +27 58 718 5329
E: BuwaLV@ufs.ac.za


Dr G Tshabalala
T: +27 58 718 5302
E: TshabalalaKG@ufs.ac.za



Programme Directors

UPP and Extended Programme
Lea Koenig
T: +27 58 718 5207
E: koeningL@ufs.ac.za
Biological Sciences
Dr Tom Okello 
T: +27 58 718 5478 
E: okellotw@ufs.ac.za
Mathematics and Information Technology 
Teboho Lesesa 
T: +27 58 718 5235
E: lesesaT@ufs.ac.za 
Physics and Chemistry
Richard Ocaya
T: +27 58 718 5301
E: ocayaRO@ufs.ac.za


Qwaqwa Campus
Private Bag X13
+27 58 718 5000

QQ home page

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.