ARU image Gov
The ARU is governed by two bodies: the ARU Advisory Board and the ARU Committee. 

The ARU Advisory Board was established to provide advice give strategic direction to the ARU.
The board is in its third cycle, with a new board that has been finalised for 2022-2024. The current board comprises the following members: 



Dr Reeto S Sogani

RA Podar Institute of Management:
development practitioner, researcher, and expert adviser (Himalayas), India

Dr Carolina Adler

Executive Director: Mountain Research Initiative, University of Bern, Switzerland

Prof Susanna Venn

School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Melbourne Burwood Campus, Deakin University, Australia

Prof William (Billy) Schumann

Director: Centre for Appalachian Studies, Appalachian State University, North Carolina, USA

Mr Leluma Matooane

Director: Earth Science Systems, Department of Science and Innovation, South Africa

Dr Zachariah Magombo

Acting Director General, National Herbarium and Botanic Gardens of Malawi, Malawi

Prof Lyn Wadley

School of Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies and Institute for Evolution, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Prof Anibal Pauchard

Director: Institute of Ecology and Biodiversity, University of Concepción, Chile

Batlokoa Ba Mota Royal House (Morena e Moholo Montoeli Mota)

Batlokoa Royal House, Phuthaditjhaba, South Africa

Morena Ntsane Mopeli (Morena Moremoholo Motebang Mopeli)

Bakoena Royal House, Phuthaditjhaba, South Africa

Dr Mary-Jane Bopape

Managing Director: South African Environmental Observation Network (SAEON), South Africa

Prof Corli Witthuhn (Chair) (ex officio)

Vice-Rector: Research, UFS

Dr Glen Taylor (ex officio)

Senior Director: Research Development, UFS

Dr Martin Mandew (ex officio)

Campus Principal, Qwaqwa Campus, UFS

Prof Pearl Sithole (ex officio)

Vice-Principal: Academic and Research, Qwaqwa Campus, UFS

Dr Ralph Clark (ex officio)

Director: ARU, UFS


Contact us

Sithando Jwara

Administrator: Afromontane Research Unit
Private Bag X13, Phuthaditjhaba, 9866, Republic of South Africa
T: +27 58 718 5271
C: +27 73 512 7671