The ARU Team

The team at the Afromontane Research Unit (ARU) comprises a core of ARU research champions, postdoctoral research fellows, and postgraduate students from different faculties on two UFS campuses, and a cohort of external ARU-affiliated research fellows.

Additional UFS staff are supported by the ARU through two University Staff Doctoral Programmes (funded by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training), and the ARU’s Risk and Vulnerability Science Centre programme (RVSC – funded by the South African Department of Science and Innovation through the National Research Foundation).

The ARU also hosts local and international postgraduate students, postdocs, interns, and visiting researchers for short- and long-term research visits. 

Contact us

Sithando Jwara

Administrator: Afromontane Research Unit
Private Bag X13, Phuthaditjhaba, 9866, Republic of South Africa
T: +27 58 718 5271
C: +27 73 512 7671