Governance structures

The Chancellor The Council The Executive Committee of the Senate
The University Management Committee The Rectorate Representative Council

Declaration by the Council of the UFS  (pdf document)

Function of the Council:

The Council of the University of the Free State governs this higher education institution, subject to the Higher Education Act and the Institutional Statute. The full function and composition of the Council is contained in the Statute of the University of the Free State as amended (Government Gazette 20383 No. 1937 of 17 August 1999.)

Members and composition of the Council:

Chairperson: Mr D (David) Noko (2021/10/01 -2025/09/30)

Vice-Chairperson: Ms T (Tirelo) Sibisi (2021/11/26-2025/11/25)
Vice-Chancellor and Principal
Prof FW (Francis) Petersen

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (1) 
Prof V (Vasu) Reddy (2023/10/01-2024/09/30)

Appointed by the Minister of Higher Education and Training (5)
Ms KV (Vicky) Tlhabanelo (2020/09/07-2024/09/07)
Ms I (Itumeleng) Pooe (2020/07/01-2024/06/30)
Prof M (Millard) Arnold (2022/07/27-2026/07/26)
Ms L (Leah) Molatseli (2022/07/27-2026/07/26)
Ms J (Johanna) Mapharisa (2022/07/27-2026/07/26)
Appointed by the Premier of the Free State (1)
Mr KF (Kopung) Ralikontsane (2022/11/15-2026/11/14)

Elected by the Senate (2)
Prof PD (Danie) Vermeulen (2021/01/01-2024/12/31)
Prof P (Philippe) Burger (2021/07/04 – 2025/07/03)

Members of the religious community (1)

Elected by the Donors (1)
Mr M (Marius) Rezelman (2021/08/24 – 2025/08/23)

Elected by the Convocation (4)
Dr PD (Pieter) du Toit (2020/02/01-2024/01/31)
Mr HH (Henry) Shimutwikeni (2020/11/24-2024/11/23)
Mr DM (Mandla) ) Ndlangamandla (2019/11/15 - 2023/11/14)
Mr ZL ( Zama) Sigwebela (2019/11/15 - 2023/11/14)
Elected by the academic staff who are not members of Senate (1)
Dr MC (Claudia) Ntsapi (2023/04/01 – 2025/11/28)

Elected by the non-academic staff (support service employee) (1)
Mr CM (Charlie) Molepo (2020/01/01-2023/12/31)
Appointed by the Institutional Student Representative Council (2)
Mr A (Axola) Toto 
Mr STI (Sifundo) Masuku 

Appointed by the South African Local Government Association: Free State (1)

Chairperson of the Institutional Forum (1)
Appointed by Council (8)
Ms T (Tirelo) Sibisi (2020/07/01-2024/06/30)
Mr LL (Louis) von Zeuner (2020/07/01-2024/06/30)
Ms R (Refiloe) Hoohlo-Zephyrine (2023/03/15-2027/03/14)
Mr D (David) Noko (2023/09//14 -2027/09/13)
Dr SJ (Snowy) Khoza (2021/10/01-2025/09/30
Dr A (Anchen) Laubscher (2020/09/01-2024/08/31)
Mr D (David) Abbey (2022/03/23-2026/03/22)
Mr D (Dan) Kriek (2022/03/23-2026/03/22)

In advisory capacity:
Dr M (Molapo) Qhobela (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Change, Strategic Partnerships and Societal Impact)
Dr EL (Engela) van Staden (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic)
Prof P (Prakash) Naidoo (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Operations)
Mr NN (Nikile) Ntsababa ( Registrar) 
Mrs JH (Elna) van Pletzen (Deputy Registrar: Governance and Policy) 
Mr CR (Chris) Liebenberg (Senior Director: Finance)
Ms S (Susan) van Jaarsveld (Senior Director: Human Resources)
Dr M (Martin) Mandew (Principal: Qwaqwa Campus)
Ms LC (Lacea) Loader (Senior Director: Communication and Marketing)
Mr T (Temba) Hlasho (Executive Director: Student Affairs) 

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.