Governance structures

The Chancellor The Council The Executive Committee of the Senate
The University Management Committee The Rectorate Representative Council

Powers and duties delegated to the ECS by the Council and Senate:

The ECS, in co-operation with the Senate and Council, is responsible for the strategic management of the UFS with regard to its focus areas, key success factors, faculties, academic support services, and portfolios.

Members of the Executive Committee of the Senate:

Rector and Vice-Chancellor
Prof FW (Francis) Petersen 

Prof V (Vasu) Reddy (Vice-Rector: Research and Internationalisation) 
Dr  EL (Engela) van Staden  (Vice-Rector: Academic)
Prof P (Prakash) Naidoo (Vice-Rector: Operations)
Dr M (Molapo) Qhobela  (Vice-Rector-Institutional Change, Strategic Partnerships and Societal Impact)

Mr NN (Nikile) Ntsababa 
Prof  MA (Mogomme) Masoga (The Humanities) 
Prof  SAD (Serges) Kamga (Law) 
Prof  P (Philippe) Burger ( Economic and Management Sciences)
Prof DJ (Danie) Vermeulen (Natural and Agricultural Sciences) 
Prof GJ (Gert) van Zyl (Health Sciences) 
Prof LC (Loyiso) Jita (Education)
Prof DF (Francois) Tolmie (Acting:Theology and Religion) 

Qwaqwa Campus
Dr MDPA (Martin) Mandew (Campus Head)

Two representatives from the Senate from the Human Sciences Faculties
Prof  R (Robert) Peacock 

Executive Director: Student Affairs
Mr T (Temba) Hlasho

Two representatives from the Senate from the Natural Sciences Faculties
Prof HC (Hendrik) Swart
Prof L (Liezel) Herselman 

In advisory capacity

Ms LC (Lacea) Loader (Communication and Marketing)
Ms SJ (Susan) van Jaarsveld (Human Resources)
Ms AM (Anita) Lombard (UVPERSU representative)
Mr TR (Teboho) Pitso (NEHAWU representative) 
Dr GJ (Glen) Taylor (Research Development)
Ms L (Liana) Griesel (Senior Director: Directorate for Institutional Research and Academic Planning)
Mr A (Anban) Naidoo (Deputy Registrar: Student Academic Services) 
Dr K (Karen) Booysen (Centre for Graduate Support)
Prof JF (Francois) Strydom (Centre for Teaching and Learning)

Secretariat (Meeting Administration)
Ms JAS (Susan) Esterhuizen

Comment: If discussions by the ECS concern a specific support service department/division, the head of department or division head concerned must attend the ECS meeting in an advisory capacity.

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.