Governance structures

The Chancellor The Council The Executive Committee of the Senate
The University Management Committee The Rectorate Representative Council

Powers and duties delegated to the UMC by the Council

The UMC, in co-operation with the Senate and Council, is responsible for the strategic management of the UFS with regard to its focus areas, key success factors, academic support services, and portfolios.

Members of the University Management Committee

Council Chamber ( George du Toit Administration Building)

Rector and Vice-Chancellor
Prof FW (Francis) Petersen


Prof RC (Corli) Witthuhn (Vice-Rector: Research)
Prof P (Puleng) LenkaBula (Vice-Rector: Institutional Change, Student Affairs, and Community Engagement)
Prof P (Prakash) Naidoo (Vice-Rector: Operations)
Dr EL (Engela) van Staden (Vice-Rector: Academic)


Mr NN (Nikile) Ntsababa 


Prof H (Heidi) Hudson (The Humanities)
Prof J (John) Mubangizi (Law)
Prof HJ (Hendri) Kroukamp ( Economic and Management Sciences)
Prof DJ (Danie) Vermeulen (Natural and Agricultural Sciences)
Prof GJ (Gert) van Zyl (Health Sciences)
Prof L (Loyiso) Jita (Education)
Prof R (Rantoa) Letšosa (Theology and Religion)
Mr P (Pura) Mgolombane (Student Affairs)

South Campus

Dr M (Maria) Madiope (Campus Principal)

Qwaqwa Campus

Dr M (Martin) Mandew (Campus Principal)

Heads of departments

Ms KB (Keitumetse) Eister (Library and Information Services)
Mr CR (Chris) Liebenberg (Finance)
Ms SJ (Susan) van Jaarsveld (Human Resources)
Dr GJ (Glen) Taylor (Research Development)
Dr RV (Vic) Coetzee (Information and Communication Technology Service)
Dr JF (Francois) Strydom (Centre for Teaching and Learning)
Me L (Liana) Griesel (DIRAP)
Mr NJ (Nico) Janse van Rensburg (University Estates)
Mr CCA (Cornelius) Hagenmeier (International Affairs)
Ms LC (Lacea) Loader (Communication and Marketing)
Mr JCG (JC) van der Merwe (Unit for Institutional Change and Social Justice)
Mr PMB (Billyboy) Ramahlele (Community Engagement)
Ms NE (Nomonde) Mbadi (Student Recruitment Services)
Prof W (Witness) Mudzi  (Postgraduate School)
Ms A (Annamia) van den Heever (Institutional Advancement)
Mr QT (Quintin) Koetaan (Housing and Residence Affairs) 
Mr P (Pura) Mgolombane (Dean: Student Affairs)

President: Central Students’ Representative Council

Mr Katleho Lechoo (Bloemfontein Campus)
Mr Xolani Sibiya (Qwaqwa Campus)

In advisory capacity

Ms AM (Anita) Lombard (UVPERSU representative)
Mr TD (Thabang) Sepeame (NEHAWU representative)
Ms JH (Elna) van Pletzen (Deputy Registrar: Governance and Policy)
Mr A (Anban) Naidoo (Deputy Registrar: Student Academic Services)

Secretariat (Meeting Administration)

Ms JAS (Susan) Esterhuizen

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful. To better understand how they are used, read more about the UFS cookie policy. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.