The Faculty of Health Sciences is considered one of the best in the country and is proud of the high quality of health professionals produced our 5 schools. 
Our focus is that of a modern university

In today’s competitive marketplace, a faculty that ensures a consistent approach to Description: Office of the Dean: Health Sciences Keywords: Prof Gert van ZylHigher Education and service is critical. Our focus is therefore that of a modern university. The faculty is extensively involved in the integration of health delivery projects and community service.

Teaching and learning is addressed in a serious manner, which results in the high quality of academic programmes.  Participation in various professional and national organizations as well as the faculty's contribution to research has shifted the focus of teaching and training from a purely professional base to a combined professional and educational effort.

Units of national importance

The faculty boasts a number of units of national importance, including the National Control Laboratory, the only vaccine-testing laboratory in the country evaluated to do vaccine testing for the World Health Organization. The Sports Laboratory is based in the Department of Pharmacology and tests samples for prohibited substances for various codes of sport. The new next generation GMO unit in Biomedical Science and Indigenous Knowledge Systems in Clinical Medicine is part of the School of Biomedical Sciences.

The faculty's website provides more information about the quality and standards of our courses and students, the structure and philosophy of the Faculty of Health Sciences and the teaching that is offered.


The Office of the Dean houses the following divisions:

The Administration of the Faculty of Health Sciences consists of the following divisions:

  • Student Administration
  • Meeting Administration
  • Language Practitioner
  • Financial Administration

The following divisions are respectively part of the School of Biomedical Sciences and the School of Clinical Medicine: 



Central Information Office
T: +27 51 401 3739
F: +27 86 579 5154

E: StudentAdminFHS@ufs.ac.za

Student Administration
Faculty Administration

Health sciences block next to contact

We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. You can read more and make your cookie choices here. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.